A little bit of SPARKLE…

As a fully qualified jewellery designer/maker I have to say, I’m a bit of a magpie. In fact, it’s an inherited trait from my Mother. I didn’t set out to be a designer, or at least a jewellery designer but looking back now, it seems a pretty obvious choice for me to have gone for.

I love design. I love fine things. I love handmade and I love machine made. Both have a place in my heart. I work with tools and my hands but the thrill of seeing a design take shape under a machine’s influence… It’s kinda surreal. I’ve worked with 200 hp industrial lathes. I’ve worked with the most beautiful green painted small workshop kind. I’ve hand cast items in pewter and I’ve seen machines cast my ideas in silver. There’s something about mass production that can be cheap and tacky and something else that comes from incredible design and real attitude.

These brooches (including some stunners from Butler & Wilson) are just that. Attitude. Although there is a fine line; too much attitude and it’s just plain old tacky. Plain black or navy blazer, nude coloured shift dress, black trousers and a crisp white shirt, on bags, scarves, lapels, jeans pockets, anywhere you can put a statement piece like this has to be low key. And it just has to be done.

Why don’t you make up your own minds…

 

And my two personal favourites..

Leave a Reply

