Guilty Pleasures…

So, first on my list of guilty pleasures has to be baking… at 8 o’clock at night. Eating Double Chocolate Sticky Muffins practically straight out the oven. OH will winge he wants something sweet to eat after tea. I, being the most gracious of little-women, will happily jump up to make him my favourite DCS Muffins.

I’ll post the recipe soon.

Curling up in my squishy ‘Big Red’ chair wrapped in my dressing gown with my huge cat on my knee and one of my favourite books in my hands. I will sit for hours and hours, not eating and not talking, just reading. Heaven. The only problem I have with my reading addiction is the quality of story (and I only read series) cannot be written fast enough.

Then next on my list has to be fried chicken. Cold. Especially cold. With no sauce or fries or anything. I very rarely get to eat this take-out style and NEVER cook it at home. This special little treat is reserved for the rare occasion I have enough dosh and am walking past the big red building at the top of the high street and feeling in a particularly self-indulgent mood.

American TV shows. BIG guilty pleasure right there. From dramas like Grey’s Anatomy (come on, McDreamy right?), Private Practise, Dexter, NCIS, CSI- Miami, Las Vegas AND New York, Sons of Anarchy, The Walking Dead, House, Boardwalk Empire and Justified to Diners, Drive-in’s & Dives, Man Vs Food (see a running theme here?) Ace of Cakes, Ice Road Truckers (ask my parents what they call this program, it rhymes…) Bridezillas (Hell Yeah who doesn’t love watching the crazies now and again?) Well, basically any American TV show. Star Trek. Now that’s one not everyone wants to admit to loving. Any of the vast array of spin-offs and series- Deep Space Nine, Voyager, Next Generation… All of them. Wonderful.

So, what else… Home Wear Stores; kitchen and furnishings… gadgets and art prints. Window shopping ONLINE. Without crowds or noise or fuss. I like nesting.

Shoes. Dresses. Turning the heating on when you know you could soldier on with just your wooly jumper. Coffee. Lots of coffee. Grabbing a taxi home from work when it’s raining. That HUGE extra portion of home made, slow-cooked chile or Musakka.

The idea of building my own home. This consumes me so much and so vividly sometimes that I can see myself walking through the rooms as if they’re already built. The fact that even getting the kitchen done was enough to give me hives doesn’t get a seconds thought.

I know you adore half of these things too. I know you just want to curl up in a big squishy chair with a huge spotty cat, a mug of coffee and the bestest stickiest double chocolate muffin straight out the oven crying to an episode of Grey’s Anatomy. I know you treat yourself to that extra portion at dinner. I know you secretly want to own a Star Trek ‘United Fediration’ uniform. I know you’d wear your Uggs and PJ bottoms to work if they’d let you.

You know why? Cause I’m just like you.

Leave a Reply

