Remember to live and love ALL THE TIME.

What I mean by the obnoxious titling there is what I tell myself when I’m down and blue or when I’m bored or stressed.

I know I take things for granted, I’m only human am I not? The thing is, I know I shouldn’t. I know I should soak up every second and always find the flip side to a troubling situation or moment in the day. I know I should really revel in the successes in my life and the wonderful people I share it with. I know this, I do, but sometimes people piss you off or you get in a selfish mood and don’t see the beautiful bigger picture.

Thank the lord I’ve been lucky enough to grow up in a fairly tight nuclear family unit with healthy, happy family and friends. At the end of the day, that’s all that matters isn’t it? My parents are still together and will be forevermore. I didn’t grow up with two seperate parents and two seperate homes. I grew up in a really nice area, not posh, but nice. Country-sidy. I had what ever I needed and was given a good education- school, college, university. We had pets- dogs, cats, hamsters, rabbits, mice, snakes, rats, goldfish and since leaving home my Mum has aquired more…

I now have an amazing OH who has built a home around me. We compromise with each other and it doesn’t even feel like a compromise. Our tastes are similar, our humor is almost similar (he still doesn’t understand what me and my Mum find so funny sometimes…) we want the same things, we’re going in the same direction. I don’t ever want to take that for granted.

Many people do. I see it all the time. People so wrapped up in their own little bubbles they forget they share that bubble with the people closest to them. They forget to respect the people closest to them. They forget that the world doesn’t revolve around them and that their decisions and opinions aren’t always the only ones. Not having the world evolving round you is a good thing. Let me explain some more.

People forget to see the small things. They forget to enjoy every moment; your favourite store is nice and quiet while you’re browsing, the fact the sun is shining and that you are able to drive/cycle/walk to work, your favourite song is playing. Take pleasure in these things. Your OH cooks you dinner/makes you a cup of tea/asks you about your day or your colleges are in a great mood at work.

I know I don’t always take my own advice but I make a conscious effort to do my best and sometimes I catch myself and change the way I’m thinking in that moment. Positivity is the key. ‘Smile and the whole world smiles back’ as the saying goes…

Just love the little things and really live every moment, however basic 🙂

Leave a Reply

