Blink 182.

I really don’t like London. Okay, scrap that. I didn’t like London until last weekend and our visit to Canary Wharf. It’s just so damn NICE isn’t it? Clean. Quiet. Nice. And it only helps you love a place more when you get to watch a cool band play and meet OPTIMUS PRIME. Hell yeah. Like I’ve said before, I. AM. A. ROCK. STAR.

“That’s Optimus Prime.” Complete shock in my voice.

“Really?” said in tone of utter doubt as we walked up to the setting up of the London MotorExpo.

“Um, yeah. I would NOT get that wrong.”

“Huh, cool.”

“Stuff cool, this is IMMENSE. Where’s Bumblebee… I love me some Camero…”

And that’s pretty much how that went.

I first started listening to Blink when I was in high school, probably about fourteen years old. They were easily accessible and completely out there. Well, they were for an average kid like me.

I paired this new found love of anything outrageous with a pared-down scarlet red almost-mohawk and screamo music in my ears any chance I got- Fightstar, Funeral for a Friend, The Used, Bullet for my Valentine, those other lads with long fringes… Well, it was years ago…

So when the chance floated past OH he jumped at it. We were set to relive our youth in the O2 Arena for one night. I doubt OH new my youth was actually spent IN the mosh-pits, not watching from safe distances…

I’ve got to say, for it to be so huge and so commercial (I remember watching Bullet before they were ‘big’ in Fibbers in York; a tiny basement-type s**t hole that could only hold 80 people and always seemed to be stretched at the seams with 200) I did get the goosebumps thing going on. I couldn’t help myself, this was Blink. To be frank, I can’t even remember the name of the first act although it sounded a lot like Flip Atlantic. I’m sure of the second word, not so much on the first. The second warm up act was even better as I knew a fair few words to get involved singing along with. All American Rejects. Come on, who doesn’t love ‘Swing swing’ and ‘Give you Hell’?

Anywho, after a surprisingly long toilet-break queue that took very little time to get to the front of we settled back in for Blink. I know I’m biased but they are just as good as they ever were if only ten years older and a little tired. The encore was just as good as the set and they played all the favourites throughout.

The scary part of the night was not only how bloody steep the seating is within the arena but after we left and were heading to the underground. Aw heck, I love a good end of the world film (it’s a new passion of mine, along with Zombies) but I don’t want to live one. The crowd control procedures at the underground station and the reaction of hyped-up, mostly wasted arse holes around us really made me think the world was ending. Big yellow signs with ‘CROWD CONTROL IN EFFECT’ and the crowd getting tighter and tighter was a little scary but we got through in the end and were back at our hotel in about 25 minutes.

The next day, we decided to walk from Canary Wharf (where we were staying) back to Waterloo Station; along walk but one filled with many many tourist type photo taking opportunities.

So we walked. The whole way. And it was the best walk  ever. I Have never seen London so calm and peaceful and even though there were thousands of tourists around I didn’t once feel claustrophobic or caged (I think in a previous life I was a wild animal, possibly something with speed and claws if my inner-panic in city locales gives any indication).

I am now looking forward to revisiting my Capital again some time and would definitely spend more time around Canary Wharf and actually visit some of the sights along South Bank that we didn’t have the time or money to this time.

 

One thought on “Blink 182.

Leave a Reply

